FAQ

Where can I buy iceDate?

Germany:
Our 400ml cups are available at almost all Denn’s organic shops, at all Basic organic supermarkets, at all EBL natural foods and in many other organic shops. In addition, every health food store can order our cups. So it is worth asking at your trusted health food store. Many health food stores are geared towards the wishes of their customers.

Since the organic shops do not order directly from us, but through their wholesalers, we have no information on whether our cups are available on site in specific individual cases. This information can only be provided by the shop itself. You can also simply call the local health food store and ask whether iceDate is available there.
Our cups are also available in ours online shop.

Austria:
Our 400ml cups are available at all Denn’s organic shops, at all Basic organic supermarkets, and in many other organic shops. In addition, every health food store can order our cups. So it is worth asking at your trusted health food store. Many health food stores are geared towards the wishes of their customers.

Since the organic shops do not order directly from us, but through their wholesalers, we have no information on whether our cups are available on site in specific individual cases. This information can only be provided by the shop itself. You can also simply call the local health food store and ask whether iceDate is available there.

 

France:
Our cups are available in many health food stores in France.
In addition, every health food store can order our cups. So it is worth asking at your trusted health food store. Many health food stores are geared towards the wishes of their customers.

Every wholesaler can purchase iceDate from the wholesaler vitafrais.
Since the organic shops do not order directly from us, but through their wholesalers, we have no information on whether our cups are available on site in specific individual cases. This information can only be provided by the shop itself. You can also simply call the local health food store and ask whether iceDate is available there.

 

Switzerland:
Unfortunately, iceDate is not yet available in Switzerland. An organic wholesaler may list us very soon. If you ask about iceDate in your trusted health food store, then this request ends up with the wholesaler, and it is helpful that they decide to list us. If you would like to support iceDate in Switzerland, ask for us in the organic shops.

Which countries do you deliver to with your online shop?
We currently deliver throughout Germany (excluding islands) and to Austria. We are working on making deliveries to other countries possible as well.

Is IceDate lactose free?

Yes, iceDate is lactose-free because it is purely vegetable.

Is IceDate gluten free?
Yes, all of our ice creams are gluten-free because we generally do not use any stabilizers, binders, thickeners, glucose syrups or other additives that could contain gluten.

The following applies to our ice cream parlor:
You can also order your ice cream in a compostable pine boat, as our waffles (we don't make these ourselves) are not gluten-free. Unfortunately, we cannot guarantee complete freedom from traces of gluten in the ice cream parlors, as we also work with gluten-containing waffles behind the counter.
Our 400ml cups, on the other hand, are also free of traces of gluten.

Is IceDate fructose free?
Since all of our ice creams are made with fruit (we use dates for sweetening), we don't have completely fructose-free flavors.

However, all of our varieties are deliberately much less sweet than conventional ice cream and only contain the fructose naturally occurring in the fruit.

If you are fructose intolerant, some strains may still be considered if this is not too strong. We know of several customers with fructose intolerance who have slowly approached our ice cream and tolerate some types, e.g. our banana ice cream.

We make this with very ripe, sweet bananas. That is why most of the sweetness comes from the banana, we only add a relatively small amount of 12% dates to this ice cream to sweeten it. If you have severe fructose intolerance, we naturally advise you not to try our ice cream. In mild cases, however, it may be worth a try.

We look forward to your feedback, whether positive or negative! Please tell us which varieties you have tried and which ones you tolerated well or less well: info@icedate.de

 

What is the cashew nut?
The cashew “nut” is called a nut in the culinary sense, but in the botanical sense it is not a nut, but the core of the fruit of the cashew tree.

The cashew tree produces false fruits (thickened fruit stalks) that look like a mixture of pear and paprika. These false fruits are edible, but do not have a long shelf life, which is why they are practically nowhere to be bought from us. The actual fruit, which in turn contains a seed inside, hangs from the false fruits. These seeds are known colloquially as cashew nuts. For the sake of simplicity we keep the name cashew nut.

→ You can find more details on our Post page for the cashew nut

 

Why is IceDate much harder than "normal" ice cream?
The freezing point of ice cream is essentially determined by the sugar content. The more sugar in the ice cream, the lower the freezing point and the softer the ice cream is, even at -18 degrees. To a lesser extent, the fat content also has an influence.

In contrast to normal ice cream, we deliberately do NOT add SUGAR or FAT to our ice cream. iceDate therefore only contains the fruit's own sugar that is present in the fruits used, and this proportion is of course MUCH less than in normal ice cream.

iceDate is deliberately NOT intended to be a convenience food - we are not concerned with the fact that the ice cream is particularly “practical”, but that each individual ingredient is a food in the true sense of the word (as opposed to indulgence and additives). We do not count industrial sugar as part of the food category.

In our iceDate ice cream parlor in Munich Schwabing, at Amalienstraße 91, we serve iceDate at around -10 degrees. But you don't need a thermometer - just let the ice cream stand for about 15 minutes (depending on the outside temperature and amount) at room temperature, then it will be nice and creamy again.

The right consistency is when the ice gives slightly to more pressure. If you have a mug and it can be clearly indented with a little force, then the consistency is just right. The ice cream - bio-vegan - without added sugar - this is how ice cream should be.

 

Why does IceDate have a slightly different consistency compared to "normal" ice cream?
iceDate consists of completely different ingredients than "normal" ice cream. We do not use “powders”, only real food. The main difference in mouthfeel comes from the date. "Normal" ice cream consists largely of industrial sugar. This dissolves completely in the ice mass. When eating, this is no longer noticeable on the tongue, it feels as if the ice cream on the tongue simply "disappears". We do not add sugar to our ice cream, but only sweeten it with dates, which we puree particularly finely. This makes the dates super creamy, but still doesn't dissolve like sugar. In other words: iceDate has more substance. This substance can be felt on the tongue; it feels a little different than sugar-based ice cream.



Which fats are used to make IceDate?
iceDate is free from any added fats. The vegetable fat in our ice cream comes from natural ingredients, mainly the nuts; in the case of chocolate ice cream, also from cocoa powder. The fat content of the individual varieties is given in the variety overview.

 

Are your waffles vegan too?
Yes, our waffles are of course also vegan, lactose-free and organic.

 

I don't like wooden spoons, do you have other spoons?
We also have ice cream spoons made of compostable bio-plastic based on corn starch (PLA = PolyLactic Acid). Please just talk to us.

 

Can I also take the ice cream with me? If so, how long does it last during transport?
We can pack your ice cream for you in transport packaging. It lasts up to approx. 15 minutes without any problems. If you have another way, we have freezer batteries (not to be confused with cooling batteries!) For you, which you can buy or rent for 4 € each. You can either keep it and continue to use it yourself or bring it back and you will get the 4 € back. With just one battery you can transport the ice for about 2 hours. You can combine several freezer batteries for even longer distances. With 3 batteries you can go a full 5 hours, for example! Caution: Our freezer batteries are so powerful that the ice can even become too hard during transport! In this case, just let the ice cream sit for a few minutes at room temperature and it will have the perfect consistency again.

 

Do you deliver too?
Short-term orders within Munich are currently not possible, but planned. In our ice cream parlor at Amalienstraße 91, we are happy to fill your ice cream in transport cups for collection. Do you need a large amount of ice, e.g. for an event? Then please contact us in advance at info@icedate.de.

  

Do you have a question that is not answered here?
We are happy to answer your questions! Just write to us info@icedate.de  or contact us via Facebook or Instagram.

FAQ

Wo kann ich iceDate kaufen?

Deutschland:
Unsere 400ml-Becher gibt es bei fast allen Denn’s Bioläden, bei allen Basic Bio-Supermärkten, allen EBL Naturkost und in vielen weiteren Bioläden. 
Außerdem kann jeder Bioladen unsere Becher bestellen. Es lohnt sich also, beim Bioladen Deines Vertrauens nachzufragen. Viele Bioläden richten sich nach den Wünschen Ihrer Kunden.
 Außerdem gibt es unsere Becher auch in unserem online-shop.

Österreich:
Unsere 400ml-Becher gibt es bei allen Denn’s Bioläden, bei allen Basic Bio-Supermärkten, und in vielen weiteren Bioläden. 
Außerdem kann jeder Bioladen unsere Becher bestellen. Es lohnt sich also, beim Bioladen Deines Vertrauens nachzufragen. Viele Bioläden richten sich nach den Wünschen Ihrer Kunden.


Frankreich:
In Frankreich gibt es unsere Becher in vielen Bioläden.
Außerdem kann jeder Bioladen unsere Becher bestellen. Es lohnt sich also, beim Bioladen Deines Vertrauens nachzufragen. Viele Bioläden richten sich nach den Wünschen Ihrer Kunden.

Jeder Großhändler kann iceDate über den Großhändler vitafrais beziehen.

Schweiz:
In der Schweiz it iceDate leider noch nicht erhältlich. Eventuell listet ein Bio-Großhändler uns sehr bald ein. Wenn Du im Bioladen Deines Vertrauens nach iceDate fragst, dann landet diese Anfrage beim Großhändler, und das ist hilfreich, dass dieser sich dafür entscheidet, uns zu listen. Wenn Du iceDate in der Schweiz unterstützen magst, dann frag in den Bioläden nach uns.

In welche Länder liefert ihr mit Eurem Online-Shop?
Wir liefern derzeit nur innerhalb Deutschlands. Wir arbeiten daran, Lieferungen in andere Länder ebenfalls zu ermöglichen.

Ist IceDate laktosefrei?
Ja, iceDate ist laktosefrei, da rein pflanzlich.

Ist IceDate glutenfrei?
Ja, alle unsere Eissorten sind glutenfrei, weil wir grundsätzlich keine Stabilisatoren, Bindemittel, Verdickungsmittel, Glukosesirupe oder sonstige Zusatzstoffe einsetzen, die Gluten enthalten könnten.

Für unsere Eisdiele gilt:
Du kannst Dein Eis auch im kompostierbaren Pinienholz-Schiffchen bestellen, da unsere Waffeln (diese stellen wir nicht selbst her) nicht glutenfrei sind. Völlige Freiheit von Gluten-Spuren können wir in den Eisdielen leider nicht garantieren, da wir hinter der Theke auch mit glutenhaltigen Waffeln arbeiten.
Unsere 400ml-Becher sind hingegen auch frei von Spuren von Gluten.

Ist IceDate fructosefrei?
Da alle unsere Eissorten mit Früchten hergestellt werden (wir verwenden Datteln zum Süßen) haben wir keine vollständig fruktosefreien Sorten.

Alle unsere Sorten sind jedoch bewusst wesentlich weniger süß als herkömmliches Eis und enthalten nur den in den Früchten natürlich vorkommenden Fruchtzucker.

Bei Fructoseintoleranz können einige Sorten möglicherweise trotzdem in Betracht gezogen werden, wenn diese nicht zu stark ist. So wissen wir von mehreren Kunden mit Fructoseintoleranz, die sich an unser Eis langsam herangetastet haben und einige Sorten vertragen, z.B. unser Bananeneis.

Dieses stellen wir mit sehr reifen, süßen Bananen her. Deshalb kommt die meiste Süße von der Banane, wir geben bei diesem Eis nur eine relativ geringe Menge von 12% Datteln zum Süßen hinzu. Bei schwerwiegender Fruktoseintoleranz raten wir Dir selbstverständlich vom Versuch ab, unser Eis auszuprobieren. Bei leichten Fällen kann es dagegen einen Versuch wert sein.

Wir freuen uns über Dein Feedback, ob positiv oder negativ! Bitte berichte uns, welche Sorten Du probiert hast, und welche Du gut oder weniger gut vertragen hast: info@icedate.de

 

Was ist die Cashewnuss?
Die Cashew-“Nuss” wird im kulinarischen Sinne als Nuss bezeichnet, im botanischen Sinne ist sie jedoch keine Nuss, sondern der Kern der Frucht des Cashew-Baumes.

Der Cashew-Baum bringt Scheinfrüchte (verdickte Fruchtstiele) hervor, die aussehen wie eine Mischung aus Birne und Paprika. Diese Scheinfrüchte sind zwar essbar, aber nicht lange haltbar, deshalb kann man sie bei uns praktisch nirgendwo kaufen. An den Scheinfrüchten hängt unten die eigentliche Frucht, die im Inneren wiederum einen Samen enthält. Diesen Samen bezeichnet man umgangssprachlich als Cashew-Nuss. Wir behalten aus Gründen der Vereinfachung die Bezeichnung Cashew-Nuss bei.

→ Weitere Details findet ihr auf unserer Beitragsseite zur Cashewnuss

 

Wieso ist IceDate viel härter als „normales“ Eis?
Der Gefrierpunkt von Speiseeis wird im Wesentlichen durch den Zuckergehalt bestimmt. Je mehr Zucker im Eis, umso niedriger der Gefrierpunkt, und umso weicher ist das Eis auch noch bei -18 Grad. In geringerem Umfang hat auch der Fettgehalt einen Einfluss.

Im Gegensatz zu normalem Eis setzen wir unserem Eis bewusst KEINEN ZUCKER und auch KEINE FETTE zu. iceDate enthält also nur den fruchteigenen Zucker, der in den verwendeten Früchten vorhanden ist, und dieser Anteil ist natürlich WESENTLICH geringer als in gewöhnlichem Eis.

iceDate soll bewusst KEIN Convenience Food sein – es geht uns nicht darum, dass das Eis besonders “praktisch” ist, sondern dass jede einzelne Zutat ein Lebens-Mittel im eigentlichen Sinne (im Gegensatz zu Genuss- und Zusatzstoffen) ist. Industriezucker zählen wir nicht zur Kategorie der Lebensmittel.

In unserer iceDate Eisdiele in München Schwabing, in der Amalienstraße 91, servieren wir iceDate übrigens bei ca. -10 Grad. Du brauchst aber kein Thermometer – lass das Eis einfach ca. 15 Minuten (je nach Außentemperatur und Menge) bei Zimmertemperatur stehen, dann wird es wieder schön cremig.

Die richtige Konsistenz ist, wenn das Eis auf festeren Druck leicht nachgibt. Wenn Du einen Becher hast, und er lässt sich mit etwas Kraft deutlich eindrücken, dann ist die Konsistenz genau richtig. Das Eis – bio -vegan – ohne Zuckerzusatz – so muss Eis sein.

 

Wieso hat IceDate im Vergleich zu „normalem“ Eis eine etwas andere Konsistenz?
iceDate besteht aus völlig anderen Zutaten als „normales“ Eis. Wir verwenden keine „Pülverchen“, sondern nur echte Lebensmittel. Der Hauptunterschied im Mundgefühl kommt von der Dattel. „Normales“ Eis besteht zu einem großen Teil aus Industriezucker. Dieser löst sich in der Eismasse komplett auf. Beim Essen ist dieser auf der Zunge also nicht mehr wahrnehmbar, es fühlt sich so an, als wenn das Eis auf der Zunge einfach „verschwindet“. Wir setzen unserem Eis keinen Zucker zu, sondern süßen nur mit Datteln, die wir besonders fein pürieren. Die Datteln sind dadurch super cremig, lösen sich aber trotzdem nicht wie Zucker auf. Mit anderen Worten: iceDate hat mehr Substanz. Diese Substanz kann man auf der Zunge wahrnehmen, sie fühlt sich etwas anders an als bei Zucker-basiertem Eis.



Welche Fette werden für die Herstellung von IceDate verwendet?
iceDate ist frei von jeglichen zugesetzten Fetten. Das in unserem Eis enthaltene pflanzliche Fett kommt aus den natürlichen Zutaten, hauptsächlich den Nüssen; im Fall von Schoko-Eis auch vom Kakaopulver. Der Fettgehalt der einzelnen Sorten ist in der Sorten-Übersicht angegeben.

 

Sind eure Waffeln auch vegan?
Ja, unsere Waffeln sind natürlich auch vegan, laktosefrei und bio.

 

Ich mag Holzlöffel nicht, habt ihr auch andere Löffel?
Wir haben auch Eislöffel aus kompostierbarem Bio-Kunststoff, der auf Maisstärke basiert (PLA = PolyLactic Acid). Sprich uns bitte einfach an.

 

Kann ich das Eis auch mitnehmen? Wenn ja, wie lange hält es beim Transport?
Wir können Dir Dein Eis gerne in eine Transport-Verpackung einpacken. Bis zu ca. 15 Minuten hält es sich problemlos. Wenn Du einen weiteren Weg hast, haben wir Gefrier-Akkus (nicht zu verwechseln mit Kühl-Akkus!) für Dich, die Du für 4 € pro Stück kaufen oder leihen kannst. Du kannst sie entweder behalten und selbst weiter verwenden oder zurückbringen, dann bekommst Du die 4 € wieder zurück. Mit nur einem Akku kannst Du das Eis ca. 2 Stunden lang transportieren. Für noch längere Strecken kannst Du mehrere Gefrier-Akkus kombinieren. Mit 3 Akkus kommst Du z.B. satte 5 Stunden weit! Achtung: Unsere Gefrier-Akkus sind so kräftig, dass das Eis während des Transports sogar zu hart werden kann! In diesem Fall lässt Du das Eis einfach ein paar Minuten bei Zimmertemperatur stehen, und es hat wieder die perfekte Konsistenz.

 

Liefert ihr auch?
Kurzfristige Bestellungen innerhalb Münchens sind derzeit noch nicht möglich, aber geplant. In unserer Eisdiele in der Amalienstraße 91 füllen wir Dein Eis gerne in Transport-Becher zur Abholung. Benötigst Du eine größere Menge Eis, z.B. für einen Event? Dann kontaktiere uns bitte vorab unter info@icedate.de.

  

Du hast eine Frage, die hier nicht beantwortet wurde?
Wir beantworten Deine Fragen gerne! Schreib uns einfach an info@icedate.de  oder kontaktiere uns über Facebook oder Instagram.